Keith Addison ~ Sleepless in Newcastle

July 29, 2012 at 5:23 AM ~ Athena Brady: I would like to nominate Keith you know who he is and where he hangs out. Every day he has the courage to put himself out there and he never gives up.

Athena and I met Keith Addison from Sleepless in Newcastle while participating in the Ultimate Blog Challenge during the month of July 2012.  He deals with many issues: a daughter with an undiagnosed genetic condition and physical challenges of his own. The following is an excerpt from his post on July 7, 2012, 9 things special needs parents don’t want to hear

I am only human. I have been to Hell and back in raising my daughter. I have become a better person because of my daughter and I have developed a sense of empathy and patience that I would not have otherwise, however, I am exactly the same as other parents. Sometimes I get snappy and irritable, my daughter drives me up the wall, and sometimes I just want to lock myself away and get 5 minutes to myself.  I still have dreams and wants that need to be satisfied. I blog, listen to music, play on my Playstation 3, enjoy woodcarving, love to read books and watch mind-numbing TV like Family Guy or American Dad sometimes. I have to escape my role as a parent and carer every now and then and it is nice to be able to have a conversation that doesn’t centre around my special needs or my daughter.  Sometimes talking about my kids is the only human contact I will have in a week or even a month of visiting doctors or the hospital, so it is nice when I do see you to talk about other things than my daughter and her condition.

Keith, you inspire, encourage, and give so much of yourself on your blog.  Thank you for putting yourself out there. Congratulations.

Courageous Confessional Blog Award Badge

2 thoughts on “Keith Addison ~ Sleepless in Newcastle

Nominate, accept, or congratulate

